Seven More Weeks!

I’m feeling so heavy today.  Literally.  My belly is expanding by the minute and the fetus is moving into position.  My midriff just feels like a really weighty iron pan, pulling me down toward the ground.  I’m really looking forward to giving birth!

The night before last I woke up around 5 AM – and I surprised myself by realizing that I was holding my bottle of belly massage oil.  Wha?!?!  I didn’t go to bed holding it.  I don’t remember picking it up, but apparently, I had slept holding it.  The first thing I did when I realized what I was holding was I checked my belly to make sure I didn’t actually put any on during the night while I was in bed.  Nope.  Whew!  That would have made for a slippery sleeping experience (say that 10 times really fast)!  This is the first time I remember ever having done anything remotely close to sleepwalking.  Luckily, I usually keep the bottle of oil on my night table, so I couldn’t have gone far.  I just realized that I should have also checked Allie for oil, too.  That would have been funny if I had slathered him in my sleep!  Or would it?

Well, we have seven more weeks to go before we hit the 40 week mark.  I will now be seeing the midwife weekly, along with keeping up to date with the endocrinologist and nutritionist to keep on top of my blood sugar levels.  When I visited the nutritionist, she told me that I can take advantage of some activity after I eat (to keep my blood sugar numbers lower).  So she suggested that when I clean the dishes, I walk in place at the same time.  So I tried it.  Turns out that I can’t wash dishes and walk in place at the same time.  You try it!  It’s like patting your head and rubbing your belly simultaneously – it takes a special talent.

Yesterday at the midwives office, they put a weird belt contraption on my belly and took a fetal EKG.  Everything looked good, and the midwife said that the placenta was “doing its job” (whatever that means), and that I was in sync with the baby’s movements, according to the monitoring of my button-pressing whenever I felt a kick.

The baby is moving around like it’s a Solid Gold dancer.  It’s happily sitting on top of my bladder, too, which makes it fun for my underpants.  They may be under pants, but they’re working over time!  Alright!

December 2, 2008. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

