Babies, babies everywhere!

Well, now that I know that Erica has publicly confirmed the rumors, I am proud to announce that my brother in law Rich and his lovely wife Erica are … EXPECTING!!!
Their baby is due at the beginning of June and we are so excited for them.  Now our baby will have a cousin really close in age to play with!  Congrats Erica and Rich!

Allie and I have noticed some major belly movements where we think our baby must be break dancing or moving furniture – not quite sure which.  But it’s been really active lately.  I can literally feel a bump that I think is the head; and the midwife confirmed it for me yesterday!  Wow, neato.

On the downside, I took a glucose test and my numbers were so high that I had to make an appointment with the endocrinologist to keep my sugars in check.  Luckily, if I do in fact have gestational diabetes, it goes away the moment one gives birth.  However, if I do have GD, it means that I would be more likely to develop type-2 diabetes in the future when I am older.  I made an appointment to see a nutritionist too, who I also see next week.  Diabetes before Thanksgiving and the winter holidays?!? Oh Joy.  You’ll all may have to eat some cranberry sauce and pumpkin pie for me.  I’ll let you know what the nutritionist says.

Hypnobirthing by Marie Mongan

Hypnobirthing by Marie Mongan

Allie and I went to our first Hypnobirthing class last week.  It was very informative and I am listening to the CD and reading the book that goes along with the class.  I’m also breathing how she taught us, especially just before I go to bed.  We watched some very interesting videos that showed women giving birth the hypnobirthing way – and they were very calm births!  Not to say that they weren’t intense, but I figured if we can learn to meditate, keep calm and not be fearful, we can have that kind of birth experience too.

Allie and I also signed up for a breastfeeding class on December 11th.  I wonder if Allie will be the only guy there.  He will be learning how to express milk.  He can bring his Cookie Crisp.  Fun for the whole family!

November 21, 2008. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Amber replied:

    I wish you guys the best of luck with the hypnobirthing. I don’t think I could have done it and I was so thrilled to have the epidural I don’t know what I would have done without it. But I do kind of wish that I could have been able to have Isabelle naturally…I mean, after all, women have been having babies without meds for ages! If you ever have any questions about breastfeeding, before or after the birth ofyour baby, please feel free to contact me. I am not an expert, but merely a mommy who went to many La Leche League meetings, worked with a lactation consultant and continues to breastfeed her daughter. I’d love to help in any way I can. Hope you’re well and feeling good…you’re almost there!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

