Have a Heart.

Allie and I visited Dr. Fish (yes, that is his real name) who is a pediatric cardiologist who can look at the hearts of fetuses to see if everything is ok even before it comes out.  He took us through a quick tour of the heart, starting with the left and right ventricles, the aorta, the pulmonary artery, and other areas of the heart.  It was a brief but exciting journey.  It was like Fantastic Voyage, except there was no CIA involved.  Although the doctor was a little strange…

The doctor showed us how the blood pumps in one direction on one side of the heart, and in another direction on the other side.  You can check out this awesome diagram of a fetal heart pumping blood here (click on “heart pumping.”  Neato!

Speaking of heart, this baby is giving me the worst heartburn!  As my womb grows larger, my stomach gets squished and becomes relegated to the middle of my chest.  There’s no room for digestion so everything, even when I’m not eating, gives me heartburn.  But that’s ok baby, I still love you.

I’m also begining to get some dull back pains.  Luckily with my spa connection I can get a pre-natal massage for almost free!

An exciting development is that Allie felt the baby kick for the first time!  The baby was moving around a lot last night in one particular spot, so I had Allie put his hand on my belly right there and sure enough – the baby kicked!  And Allie felt it!

September 25, 2008. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

